Shhh…I secretly wanted to be Britney Spears

**CONFESSION TIME**

10 “Shallow” Reasons why I wanted to be Britney Spears when I was younger… (not my brightest moment i admit…) But I’ll always have a soft spot for the Brit Brit.

1. The signature Britney Hair Flip.

tumblr_lutjyeHHO51qlrn9t

so brit giphy

 

 

 

 

 

2. And how her hair; even when messy, still looked good.

tumblr_mxk7kkvaA01r3ty02o1_500

3. The Britney Strut.

tumblr_m66z52k8ri1qa8979 britney-spears-boys-live-o

 

 

 

 

 

4. Crossroads (it was kinda bad, but kinda really good too).

198990 britcross2001

tumblr_ldesn6Rzne1qbcfc7o1_r1_500

5. Her Outfits…

1309017_10-419x615

The I don’t know why…but i liked it!

britney rockin

The Leather (post Justin)

45c6a510f5f0fb35f15e0735b83f8b5a

The Lace (during Justin)

 

6. Her “Stronger” Video Outfit…I was was strangely obsessed.

tumblr_lnmpbqDuXf1qm2lj8o1_500

britneyspears-stronger

7. Her pinstripe suit pants from “Me Against the Music” (yes i bought a pair and wore them on new years eve, cuz I’m cool!)

Me+Against+The+Music

7bfad5dc726875e659700b5446747254

8. Slave for you video. Enough said.

*Where every guy wanted to be with her, and every girl wanted to BE her.

No just me? ok then (but you’re lying to yourself…) πŸ˜‰

 

9. This performance…

“Lonely”

 

 

10. Her boyfriend was well…him

File britney-justin-timberlake-spears

 

 

12241__brit_justin_l

Britney girl, no matter what, I got you. I’m a fan.

6334_1218388101036_5834392_n

So secrets out! I wanted to be Britney Spears when I was a kid, (and maybe even when I was a teen too) for all the reasons listed above and more, (like those ridiculously high platform sneakers and flip flops she used to wear, but I couldn’t because I was already taller then everyone in my 5th grade class hahaha)

**Spoiler Alert: I grew into my height and eventually everyone else caught up**

Let’s get deep….The point is we all have things we wish we could change about ourselves, I’m sure Britney herself has things she would change about herself. As we grow up we idolize people we think are perfect. But the more we grow the more we understand everyone has flaws and it’s ok to accept them. It’s always nice to look up to people and often times those people tend to be celebrities with money and fame. But I’ve learned that idolizing the version of them that you think is perfect can cause you to have a distorted vision of yourself and others. So I’ve learned to admire instead of idolize. Respect talent but more importantly value good character. This lesson has allowed me to gain suitable inspiration without losing who I am as a person.

So I’m happy to say that this little girl, is my idol πŸ˜‰

Me circa 1997 ish?

Me circa 1997 ish?

Β The moral of this story…

Be Yourself.

-<3-

 

One thought on “Shhh…I secretly wanted to be Britney Spears

Leave a Reply

