Fight…or Flight?

Read Part 1 HERE

3 weeks later…

Dylan didn’t think it’d happen this quick.

Divorce talks and meetings with lawyers.

He hasn’t been home in weeks.

The only communication Dylan and Cassie have had is through text messaging, and lawyer exchange.

Dylan hasn’t been suiting up for the corporate world for days, he just hasn’t felt like he could brave the world, knowing his heart may just fall out of his chest, if Cassie decides to leave him, for good.

He thought they’d at least go through the terrible should we or shouldn’t we spell.

Have a few hundred bitter fights where she would spit hateful insults his way.

But there was none of that.

Instead Cassie was rather calm, rather quiet.

But mostly distant.

Which made Dylan all the more worried.

It’s 6:45 pm, she’ll be home in a few minutes.

“I need her to talk to me, this can’t be how this ends,” he thinks.

He paces the kitchen, awaiting her arrival.

He hears her key turning in the door.

“I’ve never been more nervous to see my own wife,” he thinks.

Dylan’s stomach flips, and his heart begins to pound.

Cassie opens their apartment door, to find Dylan sitting across from her at the kitchen island.

She walks in and places her purse and keys on the kitchen counter, without a word. With her back to Dylan she makes her way to the fridge and takes out a bottle of chilled wine, she grabs a glass and pours herself some.

Dylan watches her, waiting.

He notices her rings aren’t on her finger anymore. It’s an instant ache in his heart. He plays with his wedding band that sits on his left hand, rightfully so.

Dylan also notices Cassie’s wearing a fitted pencil skirt, he always liked how they hugged her curves.

It was one of the many perks of marrying a powerful businesswoman.

The power couple, taking over the world.

Cassie walks into the living room.

Dylan sighs.

As Cassie passes him by, he smells her perfume.

It’s the little things that you miss when you realize you’re about to lose the love of your life, all over your own stupidity, he thinks.

Cassie takes off her high heels and tosses them in the corner, before sitting on the couch and turning on the tv.

Dylan looks over at her. He gets up hastily.

He stalks over to the living room, blocking the tv and her view.

Cassie looks at him, and then looks away unfazed.

She reaches for the remote and shuts the tv off, she gets up and starts to walk away.

Dylan: Cassie.

Cassie: What? (she sighs heavily)

Dylan: Are we ever going to talk about this? Ever?

Cassie: We don’t have to.

Dylan: I think we do.

Cassie: Whatever I needed to say, I said to my lawyer, she’ll relay the message.

Cassie begins to walk up the stairs to their bedroom.

Dylan follows.

Dylan: I’d rather here it from your mouth, then some lawyer’s.

Cassie: Well, turns out I don’t really care what you want. (she whips around and crosses her arms)

Dylan hides a smile.

There she is. There’s my girl, he thinks.

Dylan: Now we’re talking.

Cassie: What?

Dylan: You’re finally being honest.

Cassie: (laughs) Like you would even know what that word meant.

Dylan: Cassie I know that what I did was unforgivable…

Cassie: You’re right, it is. We agree. Are we done here?

She walks into their bedroom and goes to shut the door.

Dylan rushes after her, stopping the door from closing.

Dylan: No. We’re not done. Not even close.

Cassie locks eyes with her husband for a brief second.

And for a minute she almost forgets.

Cassie softens, and then shakes it off and turns away from him.

Dylan: What? I saw that….Cassie what?

Cassie: How could you do this?

Dylan: Believe me it wasn’t planned-

Cassie: Don’t. Don’t give me that, “it just happened” bullshit. It’s straight from the cheater’s manual. I deserve better than that. I want to know how? How could you physically do this? At what point did you stop remembering that you had a WIFE! Sitting at home, waiting for you.

Dylan: Cassie. I love you, so much and I am so sorry. There aren’t enough words in the English language for me to even begin to try and explain how sorry I am. I don’t even know where my mind was that night. There aren’t any excuses, there’s just alcohol, stress, and really really bad judgment. You have to believe me, it meant nothing.

Cassie: I don’t have to believe you. I know our life hasn’t been easy. I know we haven’t been us in a while. But you fail to realize that those outside factors were circumstances beyond our control. Things that can’t be explained. All the family stresses. I know it’s been hard on you, and I’ve tried being there for you, but you didn’t let me. We’re supposed to be a team, and you forgot. Life isn’t ever going to be perfect. We are never going to be perfect.

Dylan: I don’t need perfection, I just need you.

Cassie looks at him.

Dylan: As far as I’m concerned, you’re pretty perfect as it is.

Cassie: Dylan just stop it.

Dylan: It was a mistake Cassie, please can we find a way to rebuild this. I know it’s going to take time, but-

Cassie sits silently on their bed, facing him as he stands in the door way.

Dylan: Cassie?

Cassie: You don’t think I’ve had guys hit on me, since we’ve been married? I’ve had guys hit on me our entire relationship. But I never, not once, let them think they had a shot. Never did I forget about you. Because I knew what it meant to be in love. Nothing was worth risking what we had. I loved you and that was all I needed to know. But you know, I guess that’s just the difference between you and me.

Dylan: Cassie, Cassie please don’t let my stupid mistake, erase everything we had. I love you. Cassie, please. Baby I’m so sorry. (he walks over to her and kneels in front of her, grabbing her hands tightly.)

Cassie: It’s funny. I do believe that you’re sorry. And I know that you know, you made a mistake. But I just can’t shake this feeling that it’s very convenient for you to realize all your wrong doings after you had sex with another woman. Because I am sure that you were having a ball during it. And I’m also sure I wasn’t even a thought in your mind. It wasn’t until you had to sneak back home that night that it finally hit you. Or am I giving you too much credit?…maybe it wasn’t until you were showering off the guilt, or maybe it wasn’t until you had to face me day after day, night after night,  sharing a bed, the bed we’ve been together in as husband and wife… and you never said a word. You just let me think it was me, that I was the one driving you away.

Dylan:  I never meant to hurt you.

Cassie: Hey…you wanted honesty.

Dylan: I did. And I deserve every little bit of it. I’m just so glad your talking to me. This time apart, not being able to see you or know what’s been going on in your mind…it’s been killing me.

Cassie: Good.

Dylan: Cassie…Hey (he cups her face) I love you.

Cassie softens.

Cassie: I guess this is the price you pay, huh?

Dylan: What?

Cassie: For falling in love. You put your trust in someone, you give them your heart and you pray that they handle it with care. But it isn’t always like the fairytales.

Dylan: (tears begin to fill his eyes) Cassie- (his voice cracks.)

Cassie’s tears stream down her face.

She cups Dylan’s face and leans in, as she kisses him, softly.

Cassie pulls away and looks at him, stroking his face, she smiles faintly.

Dylan: I love you.

Cassie: I love you too. But this is where our story ends.

Dylan’s tears fall as he hangs onto his wife for the very last time.

-<3-

Leave a Reply

